Colombian Standards for Seismic Design

(Last Updated On: December 27, 2015)

Colombian Standards for Seismic Design

Based on the statutory authority under the Act 400 of 1997, the Colombian Earthquake Resistant Building Regulations NSR-98 was issued through Decree 33 of 9 January 1998. Subsequently three additional decrees fall within the Regulation issued NSR- 98, namely Decree 34-1999, Decree 2809-2000 and Decree 52-2002; which they sought to important aspects for the proper application of Regulation NSR-98 and affecting only
some parts of it.

For updating they were consulted the latest versions of the same basic rules that were used in drafting the Rules of 1984 and updating Regulation NSR-98. Especially the 2006 requirements NEHRP (FEMA 450-2006) which corresponds directly to the base line that has been used for earthquake resistant design in Colombia since 1984. Also consulted document requirements were taken into account International Building Code (IBC-2009).

Table of Contents of The NSR-10 Standard is Attached:

Part A - General Requirements For Design And Construction Earthquake Resistant
Part B - Loads
Part C - Structural Concrete
Part D - Structural Masonry
Part E - Houses of One and Two Story
Part F - Metal Structures
Part G - Wood Structures and Structures Guadua
Part H - Geotechnical Studies
Part I - Technical Supervisión
Part J - Fire Protection Requirements In Buildings
Part K - Additional Requirements


Colombian Standards for Seismic Design
Become a 
VIP Member to see this content